ready, set…wait

“To travel is to discover that everyone is wrong about other countries.” Aldous Huxley

After months of pouring over impressively well-written Korean travel blogs, I am surprised at how nervous I am to start my own. But oh well, here we go!

What I know now:

* I will be arriving in Korea within the next 2 weeks. I am still waiting for my visa code & have yet to purchase my flights. My recruiter does not seem too worried, so I guess I shouldn’t be either.

* I will train in Seoul for a week before traveling to Uijungbu (also spelled Uijeongbu) where I will live & teach for the year.

* I need to PACK!

“When preparing to travel, lay out all your clothes and all your money. Then take half the clothes and twice the money.” Susan Heller

Cheers for now,
Devan

11 Comments

Filed under departure

11 responses to “ready, set…wait

  1. DevDev! This makes it so real already! Be sure to post lots of pictures!!!!!!

  2. Good luck, South Korea is a beautiful country and working here is hard but always a fun experience.

  3. Good luck! In two weeks, I’ll have been here for 2 years (with a 6-month break in between contracts) and have been at three hagwons~ If you have any questions, let me know and be sure to check out my blog for translations and such ^.^ I would recommend packing a year’s worth of deodorant as it’s not really more than a luxury item here… I saw some deodorant lotion a few months ago, but I doubt it’s hardcore like the stuff Westerners use~~ Also, any medicines that you can’t live without~~ Of course meds are here, just with different names ^.^ Also, if your shoe size is (US size) 8 or above, bring shoes. I’m an 8 wide which means I’m 250 here… it’s sometimes in stores, but not always, and over that size is pretty much impossible to find without going to a foreign specialty store.

    Other than that~ you should be good to go! Good luck and keep in touch! Are you on facebook?

    • Thanks so much for your comment! I am running around like crazy saying goodbye & packing – it is nice to stop & read your words & get excited! Yes, I am on FB under Devan Rose – feel free to friend me – thanks again!! I love your blog!

  4. Sarah Meserve

    Devan I’m excited to follow your journey through your blog! Have a safe trip this weekend! Best wishes! : )

  5. Pingback: Let’s wrap this up? | mykoreaquest

  6. Great work! That is the kind of info that should be shared
    around the internet. Shame on Google for now not
    positioning this publish higher! Come on over and seek advice from my site .
    Thanks =)

  7. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a brand new scheme in our community.

    Your web site offered us with helpful information to work on.
    You have performed an impressive process and our entire neighborhood
    will probably be grateful to you.

Leave a Reply

