your body is not a temple, eat a donut

“Your body is not a temple, it’s an amusement park. Enjoy the ride.” – Anthony Bourdain (Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly)

Korea has become my home – I have been here for more than 2 months  now – I can’t believe it! Although I have yet to experience serious home-sickness, I am able to text, email & Skype friends & family easily, I do find myself missing small comforts from home. Can you say drive-thru Starbucks!!? Korea does have Starbucks, but not on every corner like I am accustomed to. Like the rest of the world, Korea is home to most chains you know: Burger King, McDonald’s, Jamba Juice, Dunkin Donuts, Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Outback Steakhouse etc. I have learned, from experience, that a Korean Dunkins is a touch different compared to its Boston counterpart. A foreigner may stumble into a familiar chain in Korea for a taste of home and find themselves (pleasantly?) surprised. These brands have tweaked their product and presentation to serve their customer: Koreans. You can still grab a burger at Burger King, but it may not be as big as you remember. Your pizza might have some surprising toppings. Corn anyone? And of course, at Dunkin Donuts you expect coffee & donuts, how can you change that up? Check out what I found: A Potato Ring donut, a Choco Banana, a LARGE iced coffee (that could have passed for a small in Boston), and an interesting article (travel itinerary?) exploring all the strange Dunkin Donuts you can find around the world. I am proud to point out that Korea made the list a few times! Cheers!

what I found: potato ringwhat I found: a choco banana anyone?what I found: this is a LARGE iced coffee

Enjoy this article from BuzzFeed.

(Some of) The Most Unusual Dunkin Donuts From Around The World:

Mojito and Banana Daiquiri (Spain)

Red Bean Bismark (Korea)

Dry Pork And Seaweed (China)

Glutinous Rice Stick (China)

Pork Floss (China)

Pink Dual Heart (Korea)

Garlic Glazed (Korea)

Donut Ball Sticks (Thailand)

Happy (Malaysia)

Green Tea Chewisty (Korea)

Kimchi (Korea)

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “your body is not a temple, eat a donut

  1. I would really like to try the lycee orange or lycee currant donut! But Gary I know would go for the Wasabi cheese donut. He likes anything spicy, even for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

